Welcome to the EU Polar Cluster -
a collaboration of Arctic and Antarctic projects funded by the European Commission

Cluster Projects

The EU Polar Cluster currently comprises of 15 projects: APPLICATE, ARCSAR, ARICE, Beyond EPICA, BLUE-ACTION, EU-PolarNet, FORCeS, ICE-ARC, iCUPE, INTAROS, INTERACT, KEPLER, SO-CHIC, TiPACCs and NUNATARYUK.

The cluster thus merges a broad spectrum of research and coordination activities - ranging from the most up-to-date findings on permafrost and sea ice, from enhancing observation to improving predictions, and from networking research stations to coordinating access to icebreakers.

Project clusters


INTERACT trans-national access call 2020


 Horizon 2020
European Polar Board

The EU Polar Cluster website is hosted by the European Polar Board, and managed by the British Antarctic Survey.